UHCAN Board of Directors

Members of the Board of the Universal Health Care Action Network (UHCAN)
(December 2015)

  • Dr. David Byrom

    Executive Committee

    Co-Director, Psychologist, Family Therapy Institute of Suffolk, Smithtown, NY

  • Patrick Cannon

    Vice-President, Wendell Potter Consulting, Tampa, FL

  • Jim Duffett

    Health care policy and organizing consultant, Chapel Hill, NC

  • Bob Griss

    Institute of Social Medicine and Community Health, Washington, DC

  • Mark Hannay


    Executive Director, Metro New York Health Care for All Campaign, New York City, NY

  • Brian Johns

    Organizing Director, Virginia Organizing, Abingdon, VA

  • James McGee

    Executive Director, Transit Employees Health & Welfare Fund, Washington, DC

  • Marjorie J. Mitchell

    Executive Director, Michigan Universal Health Care Access Network, Farmington, MI

  • Ellen Shaffer

    Co-Director, Center for Policy Analysis on Trade and Health, San Francisco, CA

  • Joan Pirkle Smith

    Chair, Health Access California, Glendale, CA

  • Deborah Socolar

    Executive Committee and UHCAN Twitter Manager

    Independent health policy researcher, Quincy, MA and New York, NY

  • Nick Unger

    Veteran trade union and health care organizer and educator, Washington, DC

  • Jill Zorn

    UHCAN Executive Committee

    Senior Policy Officer, Universal Health Care Foundation of Connecticut, Meriden  CT


Rachel Rosen DeGolia

Rachel Rosen DeGolia

Executive Director of UHCAN

Rachel DeGolia is the Executive Director of UHCAN. She has worked with UHCAN since its founding in 1992, previously serving as Communications and Organizing Director.

In the fall of 2013, at the start of the first open enrollment period under the 2010 Affordable Care Act (ACA), DeGolia joined the Cuyahoga Health Access Partnership (CHAP) team of ACA Enrollment Navigators.  She also serves as a board member of the National Physicians Alliance and received the “Consumer Health Advocate Award” on behalf of UHCAN from Families USA in 2012.